Lucas Heights Community School

Educational excellence in a safe and caring environment

Telephone02 9543 8317

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Knowing what your child is learning helps you support them throughout their education.

In this section you can find out how public education works and the range of learning opportunities offered for students to challenge their thinking, and make the most of their unique talents.

You can also browse each School Year section to find out more.

Subject Selection- the process

The 2022 Subject Selection booklets are out with students and electronic copies are on offer here:

Year 9 2022

Subject Selection Zoom Session - Thursday 29 July 2021, 10.00am

Year 9 & 10 Course Selection Booklet 2022

Year 11 2022 

Subject Selection Zoom Session: Thursday 5 August 2021 - 10.00am

Year 11 Course Selection Booklet 2022

Choose my subjects now

The subject selection procedures are as follows:

  1. Students have been provided a unique access code with an instruction sheet detailing the code to use.
  2. The access code will link students personally to their online selection document via the website link.......
  3. Students print a copy of their selection screen, parents sign this copy and return to the curriculum coordinator for their year group.

Year 10 students have been working through the following booklet in class to assist with their subject selections for years 11 and 12. The aim of the booklet is for students to work through steps and activities that will assist in appropriate subject choices for senior school study.

Yr10 Making the right choice(pdf 2840 KB)

UAC Booklet- Year 10 : Each year UAC (Universities Admissions Centre) puts out a booklet for year 10 students who are choosing their subjects for years 11 and 12. Its aim is to help students think about the next two years and beyond and assist in the decision making process for both senior school and tertiary study.

Yr10 UAC Booklet (pdf 4725 KB)

Assessment Booklets

Illness & Misadventure Form (pdf 20 KB)

To view the current Assessment Guidelines for Years 9, 10, 11 and 12, please click here.

National Curriculum

The Board of Studies has put together a comprehensive guide for parents to the new K - 10 syllabuses which was implemented in 2014. View the Parents' guide to the new K - 10 syllabuses.